# Tags

IAS Eligibility Criteria – Age, Qualification & Nationality

IAS Eligibility Criteria

Thousands of candidates apply for the UPSC civil services yearly to be accepted into the highly sought-after national civil services. Candidates who want to sit for the IAS exam must meet certain qualifying requirements. Candidates must meet requirements for nationality, age, and educational background.

This article explains the entire UPSC qualifying requirements for the IAS exam, like the age limit for IAS, ESE age limit, qualification, nationality, etc.

UPSC Eligibility Requirements

Under the following four headings, the IAS eligibility conditions are explained:

  • Nationality
  • Maximum Age
  • Number of Attempts
  • Educational background

Nationality Criteria for UPSC

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and Indian Police Service (IPS) nationality requirements:

  • The candidate must be an Indian citizen.

Criteria for nationality for all other services:

The candidate must either be:

  • An Indian national or (A)
  • A Nepali subject, or (B)
  • A Bhutanese subject or (C)
  • A Tibetan refugee who entered India before January 1, 1962, to remain there permanently, or (D).
  • A person of Indian origin (PIO) who has moved to India to stay there permanently from countries such as Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Ethiopia, Zaire, and Vietnam. (E)

Candidates under categories B, C, D, and E must present an eligibility certificate from the Indian government. Such candidates may sit for the exam even before receiving the eligibility as mentioned above. Still, they will not receive an offer of employment until the Government of India has provided the certificate. B, C, and D candidates are ineligible for appointment to the Indian Foreign Service (IFS).

Age Criteria for UPSC

As of August 1 of the examination year, the candidate must be at least 21. As a result, the candidate must be 21 years old as of August 1, 2023, to sit for the UPSC 2023 exam.

The IAS test has a 32-year maximum age limit. This indicates that for the upcoming IAS exam, the candidate must be at most 32 as of August 1, 2023. Similarly, if you want to apply for engineering services, exam 21 to 30th is the last age limit in ESE.

Educational Requirements for UPSC

To sit for the UPSC exam, a candidate must hold at least a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution.

Those who have already taken the qualifying exam (bachelor’s degree) and are awaiting results are also eligible to apply. Those who plan to take the final test can also apply for the IAS preliminary exam. However, to register for the IAS mains exam, these applicants must provide documentation of their exam success.

In extreme circumstances, the UPSC may permit a candidate who does not fit into the above categories to sit for the UPSC exam if the candidate has passed an exam held by another institution and the UPSC is persuaded that the standard of that exam warrants their admission.

Candidates having professional or technical qualifications that the government has deemed to be equivalent to degrees in those fields are also eligible.

Candidates for the MBBS admission who have not yet finished their internship by the time they apply for the UPSC Mains will be granted provisional admission to sit for the main exam as long as they submit a copy of the certificate from the relevant university or institution authority attesting that they have passed the necessary final professional medical examination. Such candidates must present a certificate from the university or institution at the time of the interview attesting that they have fulfilled all requirements (including completing the internship) for the award of the medical degree.

Number of Attempts UPSC Exam

Although many Indian competitive exams have a maximum age limit, they do not have a limit on the number of attempts like UPSC. The General Category is limited to six attempts at the UPSC Test, and merely applying does not constitute an attempt.


The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts the IAS exam, also known as the Civil Services Examination, once a year. In the famous Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), and several other services, candidates who pass all three IAS exam stages are selected as officers. The UPSC eligibility standards are the main topic of this article.


Can a 40-Year-Old Person Give an IAS Examination?

The exam can only be taken by people who are at least 21 years old. For applicants in the general category, the maximum age limit is 32 years.

What Are the IAS main subjects?

The subjects in IAS Prelims are Comprehension, Decision Making and Problem Solving, Basic Numeracy, English Language Comprehension Skills, Interpersonal Skills Including Communication Skills, General Mental Ability, Data Interpretation, Logical Reasoning, and Analytical Ability.

Which degree Is the Best for IAS?

You need to graduate in order to work as an IAS officer. Both engineering and a B.Sc. are options, and you must be 21 years old to take the IAS Test.

How Many Marks Are Required for IAS?

To crack the main examination, at least 25% marks are required to qualify for every paper of IAS. The candidates would not become eligible for a personality test if they did not clear the qualifying papers.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *